# Farr 9.2 Association

## Notice of Race – Farr 9.2 Metro Series 2019-2020

The Farr 9.2 Metro Series will be held over the summer on the following dates, and financial members of the Farr 9.2 Association are eligible to enter.

#### Dates and hosting clubs

1	RPYC Sat	Oct 12th	RPYC Opening Day
2	SoPYC Sat	Nov 9th	
3	SoPYC Sat	Nov 23rd	
4	RPYC Sat	Dec 14th	
5	RFBYC Sat	Jan 18th	
6	RPYC Sat	Feb 8th	Max Hayes Memorial Trophy
7	CYC Sun	Mar 15th	Commodores Cup (Karrakatta Trophy)
8	RPYC Sat	April 18th	Allan Coutts Memorial Trophy

The objective of the Association is to complete an eight race series if at all possible.

The Farr 9.2 Association Race committee will consist of three Committee persons available on the day of racing including the President, Vice President, Handicapper or Secretary.

### **Sailing Instructions**

#### 1. Rules

- 1.1. The Races will be governed by the "rules" as defined in The Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-2020 (RRS), the Australian Sailing Special Regulations , these sailing instructions and the Farr 9.2 Class Rules.
- 1.2. Races will be conducted under the Sailing Instructions of the various host yacht clubs.
- 1.3. In the event of a conflict in scoring rules, these Sailing Instructions will apply.

#### 2. Scoring

- 2.1. The series scoring shall be in accordance with the low point scoring system in the RRS Appendix A4. RRS Appendix A9 applies to series scores.
- 2.2. Eight races are scheduled. Two or more races are required to be completed to constitute a series.
- 2.3. When seven or eight races are completed a boats series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her worst two scores, changing rule A2.
- 2.4. If six or five races are completed only one race result will be excluded.
- 2.5. If four or fewer races are completed no race results will be excluded
- 2.6. Boats' starting handicaps will be carried over from the results of the final race in last season's metro series. New boats will be assigned a handicap equal to that of the last season's championship winner. Handicaps will be recalculated after each race in the series.
- 2.7. Championship first-, second- and third-place winners will be decided by the over-the-line points from the series. Consistency winners will be decided by the handicap points from the series, after excluding the three place winners from the championship results.

## 3. Replacement of Equipment

3.1. Boats will commit to their first hoisted spinnaker for the total duration of the individual race, with a substitution to a second spinnaker only in the event of a breakage of the first spinnaker. Post-race verification and approval of damage must be obtained from the Farr 9.2 Race Committee or/and State measurer.